Ed Adams Fellowship

Best of Show:

The Arts Council would like to recognize the 2013 Best of Show NAFCS Secondary Art Show Award Winners.  Each Year the Best of Show Award winners are given a show at the Arts Council. Congratulations to Will Taylor, Kaitlyn Brown, Ashlynn Jones, Caile Peredo, Ben Atkins, Savannah Schroering, Bryce Schindler, and Jewelian Cunningham. You can find their works on display at the Arts Council. Hope to see you there!

Arts Council of Southern Indiana
Ed Adams Scholarship

An annual scholarship is awarded to a graduate of either Floyd Central or New Albany High Schools who has shown both achievement and participation in either art or music. The Scholarship rotates between visual and performing art yearly. In 2013, the award was for the visual arts.

One potential recipient each is nominated by the arts departments of New Albany and Floyd Central High School. The Nominees submitted their work and the winners were selected by a panel of Jurors that are respected professionals in their field.

The recipient of the Ed Adams five hundred dollar Art Scholarship was William Taylor, who has been awarded the Congressional Art Award for Indiana district 9 for his self-portrait, as well as an Honorable Mention in the Scholastic Art Awards. He said “Finding such acceptance within the art world was greatly encouraging to me”. He will be going to Carnegie Hall this summer for the national silver key award.

The recipient of the Ed Adams $100 Merit Award was Daniel Vance, for his marker based works inspired by comic book style art. Vance’s works focus on realistic settings, or combines fantasy and realism, as in his piece “Tin-Man”.

Will Taylor
Daniel Vance

Comments are closed.